Skip to main content


The Metre Convention (Convention du Metre):

At the end of the 18th century, the French Academy was assigned the task to prepare a metrology system which would be applicable to all, regardless of the time framework. In order to meet this requirement, they designed all the measures on natural phenomena and sources. These endeavours resulted, in 1875, in the signature of the Metre Convention by 17 most developed states of the world.

The Convention defined the prototypes of metre as the unit of length and kilogram as the unit of mass. It established the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) and the International Committee of Weights and Measures (CIPM). The Metre Convention introduced order in the field of metrology in Europe, and later also in the rest of the world.


CGPM (Conference Générale des Poids et Mesures)

General Conference of Weights and Measures - a body within the framework of the Metre Convention - bringing together the representatives of the governments of all member states.


CIPM (Comité International des Poids et Mesures)

International Committee of Weights and Measures - a body within the framework of the Metre Convention, bringing together 18 individuals elected by the CGPM who report to the BIPM.


CIPM MRA (l'Arrangement de reconnaissance mutuelle)

Arrangement for recognition of national measurement standards and for calibration and measurement certificates issued by NMIs.

BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures)

International Bureau of Weights and Measures, organised within the framework of the Metre Convention. It represents the centre of metrology. Its laboratories based near Paris employ the world's best experts in the particular fields.


OIML (International Organisation of Legal Metrology)

The International Organisation of Legal Metrology was established by an international convention in 1955.


EURAMET (European Association of National Metrology Institutes)

is a Regional Metrology Organisation (RMO) of Europe established as EUROMET on 23. September 1987 by signing Memorandum of Understanding – MOU between constitutional member states. EURAMET e.V. was inaugurated on 11 January 2007 in Berlin, Germany.


WELMEC (European Co-operation in Legal Metrology)

The European Co-operation in Legal Metrology was established in 1990 with the purpose of preparing and implementing the "New Approach" Directives.


Convention on the Control and Marking of Articles of Precious Metals

Slovenia is a full member since 2009.


AEAO (Association of European Assay Offices)

Slovenia has been a full member of this Association since 1997.



Committee on reference materials.



European Federation of National Associations of Measurement, Testing and Analytical Laboratories.